Parental Advice from An Urban Nomad

My son wrote me about
a wonderful young
woman in Kenya who
wants him to join her
there. I wrote:

Why not go? It's your
life . . . but it seems to
me that you've chosen
an unencumbered life
so far for some purpose.

He wrote back:
Yeah, why not right?
But how does one just
drop everything and
go? How can one make
changes without
knowing the proper
outcome?

My answer (the best parental advice a skewed-up guy like me can muster):

Nobody knows the proper outcome except God and He whispers. How does
one just drop everything and go? Throw everything that slows you down into
the street, take a deep breath, strap yourself in and scream
"YEEEEEE HAAAAAAAA!"

Leave a Reply

